C.C. made a valid point in saying that the reason we remember movies quotes is “because it gives us a verbalization that sticks in our heads.” I completely agree with him, but I also think it goes back to branding. Thinking on the movie quotes I can name off hand, which is not many since I can’t seem to retain a great deal of them, the ones that come to mind are the movies I identify myself with in one strange way or another. As we said in class, we are in the age of Affective Economics. In other words, we form emotional attachments to our products. Therefore, we are attached to our movies, and we remember what we love. We also demand more of what we love; therefore the branding of certain types of movies evolves.

According to Kathleen Fitzpatrick television viewers are the proprietors of affective economics. “These viewers are becoming the new target group of advertisers as well through sponsorship deals and product placement. As a product of this increasingly narrow focus on the active participants, shows and advertising have become more responsive to these community’s demands.” (Affective Economics) I think this also goes for the moviegoers that attach to their films. Look at the Trekkies.

There was a “note” that went around on Facebook that involved people being able to identify the movie that corresponded with the poster’s top 25 quotes. When people couldn’t identify the quote, some people would get defensive and think the other person must just be crazy for not knowing their movies. Here are the two I did posted in their entirety.  

This one took 12 people to solve.

Here are the rules:

1. Choose 20 of your favorite movies.

2. Look up quotes from them on IMDB.

3. Have your friends guess which movie the quotes are from.

4. NO CHEATING–you can’t Google or use any other form of searching

5. Identify the movie once someone guesses it correctly.

6. Tag 15 people, and tag back the person who sent it to you.

 

 

1. In the meantime I’ll practice on less honorable throats… And my Lucy lies in ashes, and I’ll never see my girl again. But the work waits! I’m alive at last, and I’m full of joy!

– Sweeney Todd

 

2. Thank you for choosing “Magic Carpet” for all your travel needs. Don’t stand until the rug has come to a complete stop. Thank you. Goodbye, now. Goodbye. Goodbye, thank you. Goodbye.

– Aladdin

 

3. If I touch a burning candle, I can feel no pain. If you cut me with a knife, it’s still the same. And I know her heart is beating, and I know that I am dead; yet the pain here that I feel, try and tell me it’s not real, and it seems that I still have a tear to shed.

– Corpse Bride

 

4. Oh, poor thing. It is a shame she’s not more handsome. There’s a spinster in the making and no mistake. The fourth with a Miss King, of little standing… and the fifth again with Jane.

– Pride and Prejudice

 

5. So, Coral, when you said you wanted an ocean view, you didn’t think you were going to get the whole ocean, did you? Huh?

-Finding Nemo

 

6. Um no, no I borrowed it. I bought her this. It cost me ten quid plus my Johnny Rotten T-shirt. See here – where is it? Ah yes. DS: Donna Sheridan. and HB: Head Banger.

-Mama Mia!

 

 

7. A long time ago, I was in Burma, my friends and I were working for the local government. They were trying to buy the loyalty of tribal leaders by bribing them with precious stones. But their caravans were being raided in a forest north of Rangoon by a bandit. So we went looking for the stones. But in six months, we never found anyone who traded with him. One day I saw a child playing with a ruby the size of a tangerine. The bandit had been throwing them away.

-The Dark Knight

8. It started with a chair.

– Juno

 

9. Earn you a one-way ticket to Azkaban. Correct. The Ministry says you are too young to see what these curses do. I say different! You need to know what you’re up against. You need to be prepared…

– Harry Potter

 

10. The word I’m searching for, I can’t say, because there’s preschool toys present.

– Toy Story

 

11. ‘Twas a long time ago, longer now than it seems in a place perhaps you’ve seen in your dreams. For the story you’re about to be told began with the holiday worlds of auld. Now you’ve probably wondered where holidays come from. If you haven’t I’d say it’s time you begun.

– The Nightmare Before Christmas

 

12. Honesty? You want honesty? Honestly, I think you’re nothing. Nothing but a pure waste of God-given talent. You don’t listen to nobody, man! Not even Doc or Boone! Shiver push on the line everytime and you blow right past ’em! Push ’em, pull ’em, do something! You run over everyone in this league, and everytime you do you leave one of your teammates hanging out to dry, me in particular!

– Remember the Titans

 

13. Oh, and no ship that’s not crewed by the damned and captained by a man so evil that Hell itself spat him back out could possibly have black sails, therefore couldn’t possibly be any other ship than the Black Pearl. Is that what you’re telling me?

– POTC- Curse of the Black Pearl

 

14. You’re both gonna see therapists. Nancy thinks it’ll help. And guys, that’s non-negotiable

– Step Brothers

 

15. Yeah. Um… I had an adrenaline rush. It’s very common. You can Google it.

– Twilight

 

16. I’m French. Why do you think I have this outrageous accent, you silly king?

-Monty Python

 

17. What is the cure for Cancer, Eric? The cure for death itself. The answer is immortality. By creating a legacy, by living a life worth remembering, you become immortal.

– Saw

 

18. I’m lookin’ at this thing and I think, ‘You gotta be kiddin’ me.’ I’m a hobbyist. Thing’s basically nothing but speed rails. I figure I’d go down to Home Depot and whip this up myself for… a hundred bucks.

– Burn After Reading

 

19.Woooooooo-wee. Boy, that was a miiiighty fine a-pickin’ and a-singin’. I’ll tell you what, you come on in here and sign these papers here and I’m a gonna you ten dollars a piece.

O Brother, Where Art Thou?

 

20. Oh, hey. We’re rehearsing a – a scene for the upcoming company play called uh, Put That Thing Back Where It Came From Or So Help Me. It’s a musical.

-Monsters, Inc.

This one ended up with 48 comments, oh how movies make us talk.

1. And I suppose you just expect me to go weak at the knees, and fall into your arms and cry hysterically. And say we’ll just figure this whole thing out

– The Parent Trap

 

2. Why didn’t you write me? Why? It wasn’t over for me, I waited for you for seven years. But now it’s too late

– The Notebook

 

3. Well, see, that’s my whole point. I mean you could’ve been born a single cell organism on the planet Zortex. In fact, given the odds, it’s probably more likely, but you weren’t. You we’re born a human being.

-Charlie Bartlett

 

4….Texmam? Well, tell me Texmam, are you in show business?

…Well, no, ma’am.

…Then why don’t you get your fwiggin’ feet off o’ the stage.

– Blazing saddles

 

5. Chris: There’s a job for six men, watching over a village, south of the border.

O’Reilly: How big’s the opposition?

Chris: Thirty guns.

O’Reilly: I admire your notion of fair odds, mister.

– The Magnificent Seven

 

6.Well they want something. People don’t just stand out there, staring at us like that. They want something

– The Strangers

 

7. A dear happiness to women: they would else have been troubled with a pernicious suitor. I thank God and my cold blood, I am of your humour for that: I had rather hear my dog bark at a crow than a man swear he loves me.

-Much Ado About Nothing

 

8. Human beings have dreams. Even dogs have dreams, but not you, you are just a machine. An imitation of life.

– I, Robot

 

9. I met my father for the first time when I was 28 years old. I made up my mind that when I had children, my children were going to know who their father was.

-The Pursuit of Happyness

 

10. I was just at home, practicing my new twist on The Twist, when I overheard it on the news. I can’t believe Tracy savagely bludgeoned an Eagle Scout. That’s just not like her.

– Hairspray

 

11. Your Majesty, members of the jury, loyal subjects… and the King… the prisoner at the bar stands accused of enticing Her Majesty, into a game of croquet, thereby and with malice of forethought, molesting, tormenting, and otherwise annoying our beloved..

-Alice in Wonderland

 

12. Here’s a little something for you. There was a freak blizzard in the spring of 2004. So, watch out for that April snow.

– The lakehouse

 

13. My idea of a perfect date would be a man who takes me to a romantic dinner, and then we walk along the beach barefoot discussing books and – and music and – and movies.

 

14. Only ever met one man I wouldn’t wanna fight. When I met him he was already the best cut man in the business. Started training and managing in the sixties, but never lost his gift.

– Million Dollar Baby

 

15. You can bake cookies in a tree. As you can imagine, it’s, uh, dangerous having an oven in an oak tree during the dry season.

-Elf

 

16. HEBAT. It’s a mnemonic device: Heather, Evie, Barbara, Anne, Theresa. HEBAT.

– Man of the House

 

17. Globodyne’s a consolidator of media properties and data retrieval with a focus in fiber-optic content provision. It’s basically a synergy of Web-based and platform-based UNIX-driven delivery systems. OK, I made that last part up.

– Fun with Dick and Jane

 

18. She’s wrong. I can’t go back. What would it prove anyway? You can’t change the past. You said you’d always be there for me. But you’re not. It’s because of me. It’s my fault.

-The Lion King

 

19. Get past you… I will go past you, through you, over you, under you, around you. As a matter of fact I will spin you like a top, twist you in a pretzel, eat your lunch, steal your girl and kick your dog at the same time… pshh get past you.

– Glory Road

 

20. Seashells. Chocolate seashells, so small, so plain, so *innocent*. I thought, oh, just one little taste, it can’t do any harm. But it turned out they were filled with rich, sinful.

– Chocolat

 

Fitzpatrick, Kathleen. “Affective Economics.” Intro to Digital Media Studies (2008): n. pag. Web. 16 Nov 2009. <http://machines.pomona.edu/51-2008/node/329&gt;.

 

